Skip to content

No posts since August and I think I know why…

November 16, 2009

someone help me...

Sorry everyone. I was really excited to get posting on TheFour11 back when I started earlier this year but then I came down with a serious sickness. It involves moving gems around within a perfectly, scientifically, brain-attacking 1-minute time limit. Pop Cap Game’s “Bejeweled Blitz” on Facebook is the most addictive thing I’ve ever known. Worse than sex. Worse than food. Worse than Diet Coke. Worse than cigarettes (I don’t smoke, but I’ve heard…). Worse than crack-cocaine (see: cigarettes). Worse than masturbation… Yea… It’s that bad…

The worst part is that this perfectly honed, 1-minute “Blitz” is actually far more addicting than the more full-featured “Bejeweled,” or “Bejeweled 2,” or even the new “Bejeweled Twist,” all of which I’ve already logged 100s of hours with over the years. Sure “Blitz” has the new multiplier gems and Lightning gems that you can get, but really, it’s something about that sweet spot of 1-minute that makes you want to hit “Play Again” over and over and over and over and over again.

I forget what my high score is already, since they clear it every month, but I think it was close to 500,000. I’m having a bad week as I write this, struggling to hit even 300,000 (not that that’s such an easy feat to begin with), but I just can’t stop trying to best my last score and climb the leaderboard, even if they’ll be reset at the end of the month.

What I really fear, after last week’s introduction of a Facebook-connected iPhone version of “Bejeweled Blitz” (luckily I don’t have an iPhone or I’d probably end up in a car accident), is that this insanely fun, ridiculously addictive plague will soon spread. I’m sure it won’t be long before we get even better leader board support, maybe even weekly achievements like on TetrisFriends.com (another game that’s been taking a lot of my time lately, but that’s another story), and God-forbid a directly competitive multi-player mode… All in glorious 1-minute bursts of euphoric mind control evilness.

If you think I’m kidding about this post… I’ve already stopped to play 7 games while writing this entry… Help…

Go to http://www.facebook.com/bejeweledblitz?ref=nf to check out Bejeweled Blitz.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

