Skip to content

So I’ve been playing this game…

August 2, 2009

Sacred 2 XBOX…and it has been sucking my damn life away!  Honestly, I saw this game sitting on shelves back in November of last year, and I scoffed.  I said “pffff, look how stupid this box-art is.  I mean the girls make up looks like Paul Stanley!”  Then, I went on with my life and totally forgot this game existed.  I didn’t even know it came out on XBOX 360, and Playstation 3 back in May.  That is until, Chad aka 1ofthebees suggested we play this game together. 

At first I didn’t know what the hell he was talking about.  “Sacred? what the hell is that?” I asked him.  We then proceeded to search for some video of it on Bing.  What popped up however, made the game look even gayer.  It was a metal video rendered in the games engine, and featuring some of the townsfolk singing and thrashing.  The song was sort of cool though, but it did nothing to entice me to play the game.  What got me started really was this summer’s extreme lack of video games.  Like any summer, I was desperate to play SOMETHING.  So then 2 days after seeing the metal video, I called up Chad, and told him “I’m gonna buy the game, you should buy it too.”  So we both agreed, and I, feeling so blind, just purchased the game anyway.  I popped it in, and immediately thought to myself “damnit I just spent 60 bucks for some game I don’t even know about!”  I was expecting disappointment, disgust, and another negative “D” word I can’t even think of.  Especially because of my past lack of awesomeness with the past two console purchases I made (I’m looking at you Bionic Commando!)  Well, my doubts were quickly turned around.  This game is seriously fun!

I always scoffed at the retards playing Diablo together at the Internet cafes.  I always though to myself “what the hell do they see in this crap?”  I’ve tried a number of MMORPGs, such as WoW, Shin Megami Tensei: Imagine, FLYFF, Ragnarok, Maplestory, Mabinogi, but still found only short term fun.  This game, this game is something different.  I’ve been playing every single day for the past couple of weeks, and I can’t stop.  Unless of course I have work or something.  I think really what’s drawing me in this game is how big the land is.  It sports a 22 square mile map, and there’s oh so many enemies to fight.  There are some instances where you’ll be walking from town to town, and then get swamped by 20+ enemies all at once.  What’s great too, is that it supports 4 player co-op, which features a hot-swapping mechanic.  Meaning, all the loot you earn in an online game, you can take back with you.  There’s also plenty of quests and sidequesting to do in this game, and like I said earlier, it sports a butt-load of loot.  So much loot, that it’ll be coming out of your eyes and ears.  At first, the amount of swords, armor, etc that you get just from killing baddies seemed a bit overwhelming, I really didn’t know what to do with all of them.  I wanted to keep them, like a pack rat.  Then, I just said what the hell, and started selling them.  I’m one rich High-Elf.

Anyway, if you liked Diablo, Titan Quest, the original Sacred, then this is totally the game for you.  Just don’t let it suck your life away, and stop you from living your daily life (and updating your website, like me!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 8:20 am

    Im really digging this whole “we only update once a month, cuz we can” thing you got going on here. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

