Skip to content

I Wasn’t Joking About The TV’s…

July 4, 2009
Why hellooooooooo beautiful!...rawr!

Why hellooooooooo beautiful!...rawr!

Remember this post?  So I’m heading out of an apartment complex today, which is of course the birthday of our great nation that is kinda fucked up right now (and those issues are being addressed), and as I’m passing a dumpster, I see this oldie but goodie giving me the sad puppy dog eyes.  For the uninitiated, this is a ’93 model 34″ Sony Trinitron, A.K.A. The Cadillac of Classic Gaming Televisions.  I paid $500 plus for one in ’95, and it was worth every penny then.  Now for free?  I’LL TAKE IT!

Just turn off the timer?  That's IT?!?

Just turn off the timer? That's IT?!?

Word to the wise…this shit is HEAVY!  I still don’t know how I managed to lift it (much less fit it) in to the front seat of my Lancer, but I do know that I had to drive with the passenger side window down so that the TV would fit.  As you can see from the sign that was taped to it, the only problem with it is they couldn’t figure out how to turn off the auto shutoff timer…that and the shiny new HDTV that they probably replaced this one with.  They even thoughtfully placed the remote on the top of the TV.  This thing was begging for a good home and boy did I welcome it with open arms.  I actually took it straight to my mother’s house, since she is old school and is still rockin’ a 13″ (she is FAR from poor…just eccentric as all get out…go figure, right?),

It actually works?!?  NO WAI!!

It actually works?!? NO WAI!!

Luckily, as I was trying to lug this behemoth back out of my car into her house, a friendly neighboor named Carl who just happened to be outside came over to lend me a hand.  Saved my life, that Carl, yes he did.  Well, saved my back most DEFINITELY.  So, I clean it up, put a battery in the remote, and WAHLAH!!  Just beautiful.  I disarm the timer and she is good to go!  Why didn’t I keep it?  Well, I still own my Trinitron from ’95, so I’m covered on the perfect TV for classic gaming front.  If that wasn’t the case, you best beLIEVE I’d be rocking some Super Metroid through the S-Video port RIGHT NAO!

So, like I said before, keep your eyes peeled, because awesome big tube TV’s like this could be waiting next to a dumpster near you, just waiting for you to become it’s new best friend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 5:31 am

    Very inspirational. I use my 17″ Apex for my gaming needs. I have to sit rather close to it because it’s so small and my eyes are so bad. I also have a 37″ 1/2 HDTV I use for watching cable.

  2. July 5, 2009 6:14 pm

    i must just not be nerdy enough will 🙂 haha. great find though. i’m very happy for you. i’ll deal with my image stretching. haha.

Leave a Reply

