Skip to content

HAL: I’m afraid I can’t do that, Jewish Dave. (My Terminator: Salvation Response)

July 1, 2009
HAL 9000

I'm afraid I can't do that Jewish Dave

Having never met Jewish Dave before, I must say that he probably is one of the most fantastic person(s) that I’ve never met before.  I absolutely adore his writing.  Ever since his first post, I immediately said “Wow, this guy is amazing!”   Ask Knoxximus if you don’t believe me.  However this time, I must say I cannot completely agree with his thoughts.  I figure I should reply to his post in the form of a “counter-post” rather than a comment.  This is due in part that he replied to my original comment, and then turned that reply into a post.  So rather than skipping middle ground, I figure I can sum up my thoughts here.  Additionally, I can have a larger work area to fully contain my thoughts.

Dave, I still love you.

Now, before I begin, I will advise you readers that I will be responding in the same laundry-list format that Jewish Dave utilized in his post.  I read everything that he wrote through and through, and I came up with this conclusion about his arguments.  Some of his complaints are undoubtedly legit.  However, some of them just seem like you didn’t pay attention to the film, or even have a grasp of the whole mythos at all.  Now, that’s not an insult, don’t take that the wrong way.  Sometimes when a movie just starts to piss us off, and become distasteful, I tend also to let my mind wander, and begin to just nitpick.  So Dave, I do share understand where you are coming from.  One other thing readers, do not take this as something that is set in stone.  They are opinions, and opinions that belong to me for that matter.  Some of you will not agree, and some of you will; but as I just stated, they are opinions, and opinions that belong to me. Also, as Dave did, I apologize for any run-ons and half-baked thoughts.

1) Sam Worthington’s character aka Marcus Wright did alright in the film.  There were some parts where he was just too much “tough guy”, and not enough “confused guy.”  There’ll be parts where he’s just completely bad-ass, and he wont even show any emotion.  This bothered me a little bit.  Really, that was the only thing.  Your complaint about him walking, and talking like a regular dude just isn’t valid.  The reason why he is like that is explained in the film.  The explain that he is a unique type of Terminator.  One that still retains a human heart, and most importantly, a human brain. That is how Marcus Wright was able to think, and feel, and have emotions.  However, his skeleton was that of the future models better known as the T-800’s or Arnold.  What I’m trying to say is, is that he was the middle point/prototype of what would become the model that’s Arnold’s character.  Much in the way that Robert Patrick’s character (T-1000, a prototype) from Terminator 2: Judgement Day then evolved into the T-X (Kristanna Lokken) found in Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines. He was designed to be a perfect infiltrator model, but after his initial field test, (which was the main objective SkyNet was doing in Terminator: Salvation)  it pretty much showed that they needed full control.  Something that wasn’t human, that didn’t have emotions, or convictions.  That’s why they created the T-800’s.

2)What’s wrong with Serena Kogen (Helena Bonham Carter)?  I don’t remember her flying.  Maybe I’m wrong, but I seriously do not remember her flying at all.  She has cancer, she asks Marcus Wright to donate his body, they kiss, and then we don’t see her until the very end.  SkyNet doesn’t need to use faces to communicate.  It only pulled the image from his memories, because before he died that was really the last person that he associated with.  The corporation was not created by machines.  It was a man made automated defense network built by Cyberdyne for purposes of supporting NORAD.  You know, the North American Air-Defense, the guy’s that shoot down missiles and other airborne-threats.  So that’s why there’s computers, desks, and hallways for that matter.  So SkyNet is just a computer network, built by man, and it became self-aware. Therefore it was a fully manned facility until SkyNet took over itself (I cannot reiterate this enough), and the whole city of San Francisco as well as anything else that has a Cyberdyne Systems CPU.  Including Air Force computers (because the Air Force was the one that completed Cyberdyne’s work on SkyNet in T3.)

3)I agree with this statement.  I believe if Edward Furlong wasn’t a major druggie then he should’ve reprised the role of John Connor, but we don’t live in a perfect world.  That was just wishful thinking. They should’ve cast someone like Leonardo DiCaprio, or someone that still can posses that same “cool” attitude in my opinion.  However, I do realize that John had a really sucky life.  Especially all the pressures of being “The One” in a sense.  So there is a little slack that I can give.  I think really, part of the problem is that Christian Bale just couldn’t shake the whole Batman thing.  As far as the helicopter going down, yeah totally lame.

4) Yeah, there was an issue in my mind with the severe lack of John Connor.  However, as much as I wanted him to have screen time, I also understood the fact that the resistance has not been fully taken over by John Connor.  So there is a split between those that believe he is in fact the “savior,”  that his mother illustrates him to be, or just some chump that’s crazy.  So in reality Michael Ironside, and the rest of the resistance extras were necessary, or else John Connor wouldn’t have a group to take over.  Common’s character Barnes, is John Connor’s closest friend after Judgement Day.  So he too was necessary.  Necessary enough to be John Connor’s right hand man, and serving as a high ranking officer in John’s chain-of-command.  Yes, the little black girl was stupid. I don’t know what purpose she serves for the film, or the series as a whole, but I will wait for the fifth movie hopefully to reveal that, or at least kill her off.

5) I guess I already touched on this in item #4.

6)Okay, like I said in item #3, SkyNet was MAN-MADE.

John Connor Scar

Chicks dig scars. Ask Kate Connor. (from Terminator 2: Judgement Day)

I really don’t know what you mean by saying that this isn’t a Terminator movie.  The movie is steeped real deep in the mythos.  Even paying homage to the old films by incorporating Reese’s own lines of “come with me if you want to live.”  You want more examples?  Even incorporating (even though it’s a little unoriginal) a fight in a factory/foundry type setting.  Even including both the molten metal, and nitrogen that fell on the Terminator (in T2), albeit in a cheesy manner.  Even to the point of going as far as showing us why the future John Connor has that sweet scar on his face that was shown in Terminator 1 and 2.  As minor as that sounds, it really shows that McG cares about the film enough to include such minor details as that.  Other films would’ve neglected those small points and just brushed it off as “oh, those were the old films they don’t really mean anything.”  This is not a new trilogy.  It picks up where T3 left off.  The only place where the time-line really severely splits (not including the paradox that Kyle Reese creates in Terminator 1) is in the TV show “The Sarah Connor Chronicles.”  The show just eliminates T3 from happening, so therefore it’s not fully canon.  Also, Marcus was kept in stasis, underground, being completed by SkyNet.  Which I explained in item #1.

Lastly, there is no real story between T3 and Salvation.  Stuff blows up, humans hide underground.  The weak-resistance led by Michael Ironside’s character don’t really do much.  It’s not until John Connor’s group starts rescuing humans from the camps and eventually forms Tech-Com (which is showcased in this current trilogy.)  So really, you didn’t miss much.  If you did make a film that took place in that time, it would be really boring.  I think you should just give this film another chance, and have hope for the next movie, because this is just the beginning of the end.

Great post Dave, I hope my response will also help shed some light.  You’ve brought out the best in me, and I am excited to read every post that you write on our site.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    August 11, 2009 3:50 pm

    Arnold was a T-800? In the first movie according to Kyle Reece he was a cyberdyne systems model 101.

    • August 13, 2009 6:55 am

      Yes, the “101” refers to his skin type. On the Blu-Ray and Extreme DVD versions of Terminator 2, there is a scene in which John Connor, and Sarah Connor are rebooting The Terminator, and the computer reads Cyberdyne Systems Series 800 Model 101.

      You see, the T-800 refers to the endoskeleton type. Arnold’s Series and Model number in T3 is an 850 Series Model 101.

  2. August 13, 2009 12:41 pm

    That was some great wikipedia copy and paste right there marc

    • August 14, 2009 10:21 am

      ….No I own the Extreme DVD and Blu Ray Versions, and I can show you the scene that I’m talking about.

      However, I did just check the wiki, and it really is no wonder at all that they would reference the same scene that I did, seeing as that’s the only scene we can go by.

      Also in Terminator Salvation, it also shows Arnold as being a T-800 Prototype.

  3. August 14, 2009 9:13 pm

    Hey, im glad you responded so seriously, because I was obviously VERY serious when i left that comment. I meant alot to me

    • August 15, 2009 4:18 pm

      hey, im serious about two things:
      Masturbation, and Terminator. Okay buddy?!

  4. August 16, 2009 11:20 am

    if only “providing content for my website” was on your list hahahahaha

  5. January 31, 2010 11:02 am

    Found this post on twitter, thanks for the info

  6. Staples permalink
    April 26, 2010 11:53 pm

    The little girl was Newt; she was from Aliens, but used in T4 to represent a girl survivor.

  7. April 11, 2011 7:02 pm

    Hello Everyone! I like watching BBC Football online.

Leave a Reply

