Skip to content

Could The 360 End Up with the Best Virtual Console of All?

June 24, 2009

Do YOU?

Do YOU?

Oh yes…tonight SNK fanboys the world over will be feverishly refreshing their consoles in anticipation of tonight’s star offering: the Dreamcast port of Garou: Mark of the Wolves, A.K.A. arguably the best SNK 2-D fighter ever produced.  Hell, in some circles, it’s considered the best 2-D fighter in existence.  Heck, it’s even online enabled!  Either way, it’s right up there with 3rd Strike I’m sure.  But I’m not here to hype this release up anymore than I probably already have…I’m here to point out the humble beginnings of a trend that I PRAY reaches its maximum potential…making the Dreamcast the 360’s “Virtual Console”.

THIS is what dreams are MADE OF!

THIS is what dreams are MADE OF!

I’ve said this before, but since I can’t remember if I’ve said it for my wonderful readers, I’ll say it again…Sega is in the bed with Microsoft in a BIG way.  Hell, the Dreamcast even had Windows branding on the front of it, so it’s not like they were hiding their torrid love affair either.  Then, thanks to Sony’s propaganda (remember the bit about the PS2’s Emotion Engine being precise enough to guide missiles?  I know right?!?), it’s right to thrive was prematurely and irreparably interrupted.  So Sega bowed out of the console war.  Then out of the blue, Microsoft throws their hat into the ring.

...never heard of it.

...never heard of it.

This move threw everyone off balance.  No one saw it coming.  But you know what I saw?  I saw a wolf in sheep’s clothing.  Sure, the console looked like a shoebox, but the controller (especially the later released and well received S-type) could have been for the Dreamcast 2, had it existed…but what if it did, and what if we actually had it in our possession?  Think about it.  Sega leaves the business, and all of a sudden, Microsoft knows what they are doing in the gamespace?  Let’s look at the exclusives:

Panzer Dragoon Orta, Crazy Taxi 3, Jet Grind Radio Future, Sega GT, Gun Valkyrie, ToeJam and Earl 3, Otogi 1&2, House of the Dead 3, and, the BIG one, Shenmue 2.  I mean, Shenmue 2?!?  That’s HUGE.  It’s undeniable in fact.

Please?

Please?

Fast forward to the present.  The 360 has already been exclusively blessed with Outrun and Virtual On (which is a blessing most of you just can’t appreciate ^_^), and is now getting Garou, which I know is an SNK game, but it is the Dreamcast code.  My question is…what kind of rights do Sega still hold regarding any and all software that was commercially released on the Dreamcast?  The only Dreamcast port on the PSN is the soon-to-be-released MvC2, and that is not even an exclusive.  With Sega’s strong ties to Microsoft, could it be possible that we are on the cusp of having a Dreamcast renaissance on our 360 hard drives?  If so, may I humbly make a few requests?

PRETTY please?

PRETTY please?

An online enabled Tech Romancer would be superb.  Hell, online enable the DC’s whole fighting game library and throw it on up on XBLA….ESPECIALLY 3rd Strike.  Then, I gotz to have Bangai-O, with the controls mapped to both analogs…how hard could THAT be?  Somebody PLEASE make it happen.  Typing of the Dead should be a NO BRAINER (pun intended)!

The bottom line is:  They have the know-how, and they have the technology…and the fanbase is DEFINITELY out there and ready to buy!  So why not just make everybody happy and announce it already!  Announce that the 360 will have its own Virtual Console, and that console is the Dreamcast.

Matter of fact, announce it on 9/9/09…yeah, that would be perfect.

So…what Dreamcast games do you think would make nice additions to XBLA?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jerry permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:31 am

    Though I have this game already (twice actually) and am not quite as excited about it, I know I’ll end up getting it anyway and brushing up on my Hotaru.

    I AM getting more and more excited about these Dreamcast games seeing light again because next to the SNES, it was my favorite system. I think what I’d like to see next is Rival Schools aka Project Justice. I mean, Capcom has been on an old school kick lately, why not? I wouldn’t be opposed to Last Blade 2 either though.

  2. June 24, 2009 7:38 am

    Its a shame most people will be stuck using that god awful 360 controller to play garou, not everyones and tech savvy with the controllers as you will!

    Id say stick to psp roms for a fighting game fix.

  3. June 24, 2009 8:52 am

    @ Mike Steele
    Well dude, as limited as they were, the SFIV controllers would be perfect for recent influx of fighting games. So it looks like the 39.99 controller (Or 170 if you got tourney sticks) are being put to use again.

    Man, plus KoF 12 is just a month away!

    I agree with Jerry, I wouldn’t mind seeing Last Blade 2, or Waku Waku 7.

  4. June 24, 2009 11:19 am

    i just want E.G.G. 2! and no i’m not kidding at all. i’d be in heaven.

  5. June 24, 2009 8:17 pm

    well, honestly, It seems pretty obvious that ps3 owners are gonna be the real winners when KoF 12 comes out. its gonna be bionic commando rearmed all over again because of that sweet sweet D-pad

    • Jerry permalink
      June 27, 2009 2:53 pm

      @ Mike Steele

      PS2/3 D-pad is overrated. I use them, but they’re definitely not my preferred D-pad. Dreamcast is still my favorite in that department, but for the new systems my SFIV pad works just fine.

      On a semi-related note, I love how the PS2 version of Soul Calibur 2 was garbage on PS2 BECAUSE of it’s D-pad…it made Ivy not nearly as good. I mean, if I can’t perfect people in under 20 seconds it’s just not worth playing on.

  6. July 6, 2009 2:49 am

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  7. October 9, 2014 12:02 am

    I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot
    of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there
    is an online tool that creates unique, google friendly articles
    in minutes, just search in google – laranita free content

Leave a Reply

